So, HOW DO students in France learn English?

pexels-photo-408503.jpeg

This is the second summer my family has hosted a young student from France from the program VIE (Vistas in Education). So far, both experiences have been amazing and easy for my family.  I hope for the students as well.  Twice during the three week stay, the French chaperone calls and speaks with us and then the student.  Each time we are asked about the student’s maturity level, adaptation, language ability and language use. Again, we are pleasantly surprised by the quality of all of these aspects seen in the students we have hosted.  Ironically, both of the students we have hosted have indicated on their applications that their ability to operate in English is “fair” and in need of work, hence why they have chosen a summer immersion stay.  In my professional opinion, both students had grossly underestimated their abilities.  In fact, I feel their English operates at a level BETTER than my own abilities to operate in their native language, French, and I am a TEACHER.

This has led me to put on my teacher cap and really dissect WHY they feel their language ability is only “fair” and what did they do to get a level I would consider rather proficient for their age and a level, most American students never reach.

So, while we interacted on outings, playing board games, eating dinner, etc. I would engage this topic in conversation.  I blatantly asked what they did in school to learn English.  I was surprised at their response.  Both students said it was a lot of vocabulary lists, conjugation activities, grammar practice, listening activities, dictations, readings and discussions of the readings.  Did this do it? Was this what really helped them to be more than “fair” in their English abilities? NO! I believe it is what they did OUTSIDE of the classroom that is the key to their success.

Both students were avid American music fans, more so than French music fans.  They knew the lyrics to American songs just as well as my own kids and my students.  So, when I introduced them to Lyricstraining.com, both students were immensely pleased. Both played with this site a lot during their stay.  In addition, both students expressed that they watch a lot of American shows, movies, and Youtubers online even more than they watch French sitcoms and the like.  Or, they would re-watch something they had already seen the French version of, such as a popular film, in English.  They also read books in English after they had read them in French.  And all of this, they did OUTSIDE of school.  Why? Because, it was material that interested them, not assigned to them. It was popular. It was pop culture and relevant to their lives. Hmmm.

Of course, I believe these young students also had the advantage of starting language learning earlier than American students. Another advantage is that they are learning MULTIPLE languages at one time. Both of the students I hosted were learning at least 3 languages and they were only 15 years old!  It also helps that France’s location and attraction for tourists as well as their proximity to other countries does require them to know other languages. I also feel, they understand the importance or the urgency to speak another language.

So, how do I instill that sense of urgency or desire in my students? I am always searching to find what is popular or current in France or the Francophone world with their adolescents and looking for ways to introduce it  to my students. But is that enough?  It is getting them to continue this exploration OUTSIDE OF CLASS that is essential to their understanding and progress. THIS will truly be a goal from now on.

 

Leave a comment